Nigeria Wins AWCON For The Ninth Time

Nigeria goal keeper,Tochukwu Oluehi, outstanding performance on Saturday in Accra helped the Super Falcons of Nigeria to victory at the 11th African Women Cup of Nations in Ghana.
It was, a very disappointing evening for the Banyana Banyana of South Africa who hoped for a first title but lost 3-4 to Nigeria on penalty kicks.

Both sides had to endure 120 minutes of play before a winner could emerge.
It is the first time in the tournament’s history that the final match was decided via penalties after extra time.
Nigeria, however, had an opportunity to clinch the title in the 75th minute after Francisca Ordega, who was fouled in the penalty area.
Asisat Oshoala who stepped forward to take the penalty kick slipped and could not utilise the opportunity given, thus allowing the game to extend to extra time.

However, the very resilient Banyana Banyana hoped and did a lot for a win, but they always found confident Oluehi an obstacle.
In the end, Rita Chikwelu, Ngozi Ebere, Chinwendu Ihezuo, and Chinaza Uchendu all contributed to Nigeria’s victory through their successful penalty kicks, after Onome Ebi’s miss.
Alice Matlou, Nompumelelo Nyandeni, and Mamello Makhabane scored for South Africa, while Lebohang Ramalepe and Linda Motlhalo missed their kicks.
Thembi Kgatlana of South Africa won the competition’s highest goal scorer with five goals to her credit.
Francis Ordega won Woman of The Match
Nigeria, South Africa and Cameroon are by their success as the competition’s best three Africa’s flagbearers at the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup in France.

world cup

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *